weramate.blogg.se

Can bicycle riders take left lane face oncoming traffic in va
Can bicycle riders take left lane face oncoming traffic in va











can bicycle riders take left lane face oncoming traffic in va

October 2007 was a brutal month for Portland cyclists.īut this time, I survived, and attended the memorial ride, dumbfounded by the sheer stupidity and total lack of awareness of the driver who had right-hooked me, but even more so by the you-can’t-make-this-stuff-up irony of what had almost transpired on my way to the memorial ride. And then 10 days after that fatality, another Portland cyclist was right-hooked (although, thankfully, she survived with serious but non-life-threatening injuries). Probable headline: “Bike lawyer killed riding his bike to memorial ride for fallen cyclist.” And in fact, 10 days later another Portland cyclist was killed, right-hooked again, this time by a garbage truck.

can bicycle riders take left lane face oncoming traffic in va

I had just left the Bicycle Law office, and was heading to the memorial ride for Tracy Sparling, who had just been killed the day before, right-hooked by a cement truck in downtown Portland. But what a news story it would have been. My emergency turn saved me, so I didn’t make the news that night. Instead of getting right-hooked-not today, careless driver-I made a hard right turn, carving a beautiful arc in sync with the car. I didn’t get hit, because I could almost see the car making the right turn before the driver actually turned right, so when the driver actually did turn right, I wasn’t taken completely by surprise. This is the part of the story where we often read that a cyclist was hit by a car or truck making a right turn. The car pulled slightly ahead of me-I was still riding next to the car, but it had pulled slightly ahead-and then the driver made a right turn at the street to our right, cutting me off and violating my right of way. I could almost see what was going to happen next. And to my left, a car began to pull even with me. I was riding in the bike lane, heading from the Bicycle Law office to downtown Portland up ahead, there was a T-intersection with a street to my right.













Can bicycle riders take left lane face oncoming traffic in va